Shot putter Cleopatra Borel will make history if she is named the 2015 First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year tonight at the awards ceremony at the Queen’s Hall in Port of Spain. The function, which will be held under the patronage of President Dr Anthony Carmona, starts at 8 pm.

Last year, Borel matched Badminton player Debra O’Connor (1985, 1986, 1990, 1993) and swimmer Siobhan Cropper (1994, 1997, 1998, 1999), in winning the top award four times - 2002, 2007, 2010 and 2014.

The Moruga-born athlete is among four former winners looking to repeat including Sportman of the Year nominees George Bovell III, Keshorn Walcott and Roger Daniel in a field of 54 athletes (29 men and 25 women) nominated by their respective sporting association at the ceremony, which has time and again proven itself to be the most glamorous event on the T&T sporting calendar.

The FC Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards are bestowed onto outstanding men’s and women’s athletes who have contributed to the development and recognition of sport, not only in T&T, but at an international level.

Two of the quartet have won it more than once including shooter Daniel and 2004 Olympic bronze medallist swimmer Bovell, have each won twice. Daniel was the awardee in 2010 and 2011 and Bovell in 2004 and 2014. Walcott, the London 2012 Olympic javelin gold medal winner, captured the men’s top award in 2012.

In addition to the top nation’s top individual sporting award, the Jeffrey Stollmeyer Award for the best sporting administration and Lystra D Lewis Award for the Team of the Year will also be presented on the night while the WOW moments which was first introduced in 2009 will again be among the highlights. These moments have been chosen by the media as the top performances of the year.

Sport Athlete
Amateur Boxing Nigel Carlan Thomas Paul
Automobile Sports Marc Gill/Maria Tara Paratapsingh
Badminton Alistair Espinoza/Avril Plaza-Marcelle
Body Building Kelton Thomas/Vanessa Hill
Boxing Nigel Carlan Thomas Paul
Canoe/Kayak Satyam Maharaj/Keian Huggins
Chess Kevin Cupid/Aditi Soondarsingh
Cricket Darren Bravo/Britney Cooper
Cycling Njisane Nicholas Phillips/Jodi Goodridge
Football Kenwyne Jones/Arin King
Golf Talin Rajendranath/Monifa Sealy
Gymnastics Marisa Dick
Hockey Andrey Rocke/Alana Lewis
Horse Racing Prayven Badrie
Judo Christopher George
Karate Edward Ryan Rajmoolie/Dr. Nicole Lambie
Netball Rhonda John-Davis
Paralympics Akeem Stewart
Powerlifting Adrian Barry Brown/Salisha Rahim
Rally Donald Gopaul
Rugby Agboola Silverthorn/Ornella George
Sailing Andrew Lewis/Kelly Ann Arrindell
Shooting Roger Daniel/Marsha Bullen-Jones
Squash Kale Alexander Wilson/Charlotte Knaggs
Swimming George Bovel III/Cherelle Thompspn
Table Tennis Aaron Junior Wilson/Linda Paratap-Booddhan
Taekwondo Edson Breedy
Target Archery Parasan Ramsmair/Neela Cezair
Tennis Vaughn Wilson/Breana Stampfli
Track & Field Keshorn Walcott & Machel Cedenio/Cleopatra Borel
Triathlon Jason Castelloe/Jenna Ross
Volleyball Fabien Whitfield/Sinead Jack