Tobago YMCA’s Ornella Walker, who achieved a CCCAN qualifying standard but was not selected because of the Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago’s (ASATT’s) selection policy, will spearhead a 40-member T&T team when this country hosts the XXI Goodwill Swim Meet 2015 from August 14–16, at the Centre of Excellence Swimming Pool, Macoya.

T&T are the defending champions after the squad under head coach Joseph Ryan clinched the 2014 title from perennial champs Suriname, in that South American country.

This year, Ryan lines up as an assistant coach after Dexter Browne was selected as head coach for the 2015 squad. The other assistants are Leslyn Alexander and Mark “Bush” Alexis.

The swimmers were selected following the conclusion of the ASATT National Short Course Age Group Championships two weeks ago.

This annual regional competition will see Trinidad and Tobago aiming to retain the title they won last year after a seven-year drought.

Teams from Suriname, Barbados, Guyana, St Lucia and guest team, the Bahamas, are expected to arrive from August 13.

The team’s manager is Amanda Mc Millan and she is supported by chaperones Elise Parag, Michael Nelson and Brent Yates.

For T&T , the Goodwill Swim Meet is a developmental competition for swimmers from the participating countries who have not yet competed at higher levels of regional or international competition (that is, Carifta, Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships (CISC) and the Central American and Caribbean Swimming Championships (CCCAN).

Goodwill and the promotion of the sport of swimming remain the goals of the competition in an atmosphere of intense rivalry and sportsmanship.

The full T&T team: 8 & Under GIRLS

Joy Blackett

Amelia Rajack

Lyla Browne

Breanna Ramirez


8 & Under BOYS

Zachary Anthony

Tyrese Boxill

Giovanni Rivas

Gevano Mohan


9 — 10 GIRLS

Zoe Anthony

Kiara Goodridge

Neishelah Caseman

Gabrielle Vickles


9 — 10 BOYS

Josiah Changar

Marquise Nelson

Riquelio Joseph

Johann-Matthew Matamoro


11 — 12 GIRLS

Jasmine Marajh

DeNicha Lewis

Marie Ayoung

Terri Yates

11 — 12 BOYS

Jonathan Constantine

Malik Nelson

Jordon Mc Millan

Delroy Tyrrell


13 — 14 GIRLS

Danielle Williams

Ornella Walker

Lleana Bocage

Courtney Lawrence

13 — 14 BOYS

Jarelle Williams

Obadayah Ince

Matthew Ocando

Joshua Prescott


15 — 17 GIRLS

Shenia Clapperton

Sajni Maharaj

T’Shelle Williams

Reizanne Richards


15 — 17 BOYS

Leshem Morris

Kegan Ford

Jeremy Sampson

Alex Ali



Amanda Mc Millan

Head Coach

Dexter Browne


Leslyn Alexander

Joseph Ryan

Mark Alexis


Elise Parag

Michael Nelson

Brent Yates.