Kenya's Alex Ekesa surged ahead of his competitors to claim victory in his debut at the rescheduled 42nd TTIM International Marathon on Sunday, March 24th, crossing the finish line in 2:31:28. Trailing behind, Trinidadian Collin Pereira secured second place with a time of 2:36:31. Jose Ararat Diaz of Colombia followed in third place with a time of 2:46:38, while Elvis Turner finished fourth in 2:53:13, closely followed by Christopher Mitchell in 2:54:46, rounding out the top five.

In the women's category, Palmenia Agudelo Berrio of Colombia clinched victory in 2:58:23 on a scorching hot day, making her the first Trinidadian female and second overall. Chantel Le Maitre claimed second place in 3:42:34, followed by last year’s winner Shardie Mahabir in third with a time of 3:59:29. Christine Regis finished fourth in 3:59:10, and Sjaelan Evans made an impressive return to secure fifth place in 4:08:42.

The half marathon, which commenced 30 minutes later at the Dinsley Road traffic lights, saw Phillip James seize first place with a time of 1:18:25. Keron Ali trailed behind in second place with a time of 1:26:25, while David Schweitzer secured third place in 1:29:27. In the women's division, Shari Thomas made a noteworthy debut, finishing first with a time of 1:53:37. Kyuwon Son claimed second place in 2:00:29, followed by Jeanine Newton in third with a time of 2:03:51.

The TTIM 5K, held on Saturday, March 23rd, showcased the talent of young participants over a 3.1-mile distance. Omare Thompson completed the course in an impressive 16:31 minutes, securing the top spot. Isaiah Alder and Keiel Samuel followed closely, claiming second and third place with times of 17:04 and 17:27, respectively. In the women's category, Sarah Guillen dominated the field, crossing the finish line in 23:43 minutes. Dana Taylor and Sharda Beharry finished strong, taking second and third place with times of 25:39 and 25:50 minutes, respectively. (For detailed results, visit

Gerard Asyn, a wheelchair participant, and Kester Joseph, who faced physical challenges, were both honored with hampers for their commendable completion of the full marathon and half marathon, respectively.

The thirty plus international participants from twelve countries, who braved the heat to complete the races expressed joy at being able to experience the event and the country.

Chair of the TT Marathon Committee, Diane Henderson, expressed gratitude, stating, "According to reports from the winner himself, Alex Ekesa, the race was a resounding success. We extend our sincere thanks to the TT Police Service, Ministry of Works and Transport for facilitating the use of the Priority Bus Route, and to the TT Defence Force, Air Guard, Coast Guard, and MILAT for their invaluable support throughout the course and at the water stops."

This event was made possible through the generous support of sponsors including the Sport and Culture Fund, Blue Waters, Subway, Angostura, Gatorade, Guiltless, Loud Lollies, Very Exciting Things, Carib, Nestle, NWRHA, NAAATT, TT Olympic Committee, TEAM Communications, TTRU, Bishops Anstey High School (BAHS) for their captivating pan renditions, High Definition Audio & Video, Anthony Walcott, the Garage Boys, Jodhan’s Auto Supplies & Services, James Tang Antique shop, Vanity Fair, DAEE Catering, Garvin Warwick, and POSHHH.

TT Marathon Committee Press Release

Subscribe to our newsletters to receive news and important event information.