National field athletes, Keshorn Walcott (javelin) and Cleoplatra Borel (shot put) captured the 2014 Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards respectively at last night’s annual awards ceremony which got underway at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Port-of-Spain.

Both athletes are coached by Cuban Ismael Mastrapa. Over the past 12 months, both Walcott and Borel produced several highly commendable results in their respective athletic disciplines.

Walcott, reigning Olympic gold medallist, claimed top honours after silencing critics with a mammoth and personal best distance of 85.77 metres in Zurich, Switzerland at the Diamond League. He also secured silver at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland, with the a 82.67m distance.

Borel showed consistency throughout by launching the sphere 18.99m to cop gold at the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Veracruz, Mexico. Prior to this, Borel also cemented her name among the world’s best shot putters by holding on to silver (18.57m) at the Commonwealth Games.

Meanwhile, quarter-miler Machel Cedenio and 100m specialist Aaliyah Telesford took the honours of Junior Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year. Cedenio dominated both the local and regional circuit by bagging gold at the IAAF World Junior Championships and in the Under-20 Carifta Championships.

Also receiving the coveted Alexander B Chapman Award for contribution to sport and Olympism was former national football coach, Bertille St Clair.

Sports Personality of the Year went to Olympic swimmer George Bovell III.

Delegates attending last night’s gala ceremony were Olympic committee president Brian Lewis, Minister of National Security Gary Griffith, TT’s first Olympic gold medallist Hasely Crawford, acting SporTT CEO Adrian Raymond and a host of this nation’s most prized sporting assets.


Sportsman of the Year: Keshorn Walcott (javelin)

Sportswoman of the Year: Cleopatra Borel (shot put)

Alexander B Chapman Award: Bertille St Clair

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Machel Cedenio (400m)

Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Aaliyah Telesford (100m).