The TTSA National Dinghy Championships Series 1 were sailed in strong winds last weekend and featured 28 sailors from the Trinidad and Tobago Sailing Association (TTSA) Sailing School in Chaguaramas,

Vessigny Vikings Sailing Club and the HydroTec Point Fortin Sailing Club participated in three classes of boats.

Star of the show was Kelly-Ann Arrindell whose seven straight wins in the Laser Radial class left little doubt who will be this year’s Laser Radial Class Champion when the event concludes in June at either Vessigny or Point Fortin. With a catalogue of strong international results this year, Arrindell is up for a pick to represent TT at the Pan Am Games to be held in Canada in July this year. Second to Arrindell was Abigail Affoo and third by one point was Noel Furlonge-Walker, both showing improvement due to experience gained from attending

international events. The Laser 4.7 Class was won by Meiling Chan Chow with Kwame Gudel second and Isiah Paul of HydroTec Point Fortin Sailing Club in third. The Laser Standard class was won by Ian Mahon by one point from James Arrindell with Emmanuel Joseph of Vessigny third.

In the two-man 420 dinghy, victory went to Patrick Francois and Michael Stewart of Vessigny with Kathryn Christopher and Brittany Assam of TTSA second and Grace Moraine and Owen Joseph of Vessigny in third.

Thirteen participants took part in the 15 and under Optimist class. Proceedings started with an early tussle for dominance in the Opti class between TTSA’s Nathaniel Clarke and Christopher Dells of Vessigny but a more consistent second day performance by Clarke told in the end. Clarke won the class with Dells second and Akim Williams and Jamal Morson of Vessigny tied for third.