After retaining his coveted sprint title along the Arima Velodrome track on night-two of the 2015 National Cycling Championships, Rigtech Sonics hitman Njisane Phillip doubled-up with another golden showing in the Elite Men Keirin event which sped off on Sunday night.

Lining up in the 1-6 final, Phillip faced off against long-time sprint rival Quincy Alexander (Team DPS) and his club-mates Jude Codrington and Justin Roberts, Kwesi Browne (Arima Wheelers) and Rigtech’s Keron Bramble.

Having ousted Alexander in the final of the Men’s Sprint one night prior, Phillip affirmed authority once more when he blasted to victory ahead of the bunch to capture the Keirin crown. Alexander was again forced to settle for the silver medal while youngster Browne held on to the bronze.

Rounding off the top six finishers were Codrington, Roberts and Bramble respectively. And in the 7-10 final, Nevin Malco (Bike Smith) was first and seventh overall while Jonathan Harding (PSL) was relegated.

The two remaining finalists, Azikiwe Kellar (PSL) and Thireef Smart (Petrotrin), did not start.

Meanwhile, Varun Maharajh (Rigtech Sonics) proved to be the most promising endurance rider for the twin-island republic as he pedalled to gold in the Elite Men Omnium, winning four of the six stages contested.

In the final event — Points Race — Maharajh lapped the field a mesmerising six times while Campbell trailed closely behind, lapping the bunch on five occasions.

Finishing in a highly credible runner-up position was senior National debutant Akil Campbell.

The 2014 Caribbean Junior Road and Time Trial champion placed second in four of the six events, with victories coming ahead of Maharajh in the Flying 250m and 1km Time Trial.

Placing third overall was Gavyn Nero (Team DPS) while Sheldon Ramjit (Hummingbird) was fourth.

Team DPS finished among the medals as Codrington saved his energy for the Elite Men Standing 250m, where he produced a new National record of 18.672 at a speed of 48.201km/h.

Holding on to runner-up position this time around was Harding and third placed Kellar.

In the women’s equivalent, in-form rider and Pan Am Junior double gold medallist Kollyn St George (Breakaway) bagged her second gold of the Championships in 21.210.

She beat to the line Arima Wheelers’ Aziza Browne and fellow Pan American Team Sprint gold medallist Keiana Lester, who were second and third respectively.

Lester would however take top honours in the Junior Women Keirin, ousting Teneil Campbell (Rigtech Sonics) and Dominique Lovell (Arima Wheelers) respectively.

Sei Daniel also copped his second title of the tourney when he rode to victory in the Junior Men Keirin.

On his journey to the top, Daniel successfully fended off runner-up David Orr (Bike Smith) and bronze receiver Akim Constantine.

The Elite Women edition of this event also saw Jodi Goodridge (Arima Wheelers) top the field ahead of eventual runner-up Aziza Browne and Cheyenne Awai, also of Arima, respectively.

The final leg of the 2015 National Cycling Championships rode off from 7pm last night with the Time Trial and Individual Pursuit events.