The 3rd BpTT Michael Johnson Performance (MJP) Workshop got underway today at Olympic house, 121 Abercromby Street Port of Spain. Amongst the twenty nine (29) participants are two representatives from Tobago, Gerard Franklin and Kelton Thomas. In addition, Shayne Cooper, strength and conditioning coach who spent three (3) months at the Michael Johnson Performance Centre.


To kick start the workshop, participants received a welcome from TTOC President, Brian Lewis, followed by a lecture by Global Performance Director, Lance Walker via an online conference.


The 2015 workshop theme is “Perfecting Performance – Striving for Excellence – Faster, Higher, Stronger”. Participants are gaining knowledge from performance specialists, Lance Walker & Drew Cuffee.


“A very good reminder of the things we need to change in order for us to be game changers” were the thoughts of Gregory Seale, Fitness Trainer at Movement Mechanics.


Participants in the workshop include:


Nicole Fuentes (TT Gymnastics Federation), Sean Morrison (TTVF), Gerard Franklin (Tobago), Mark Alexis (Tsunami Swim Club), Rheeza Grant (TTVF), Brij Parasnath (Caribbean Sport Specialists), Shurland Hartley (West Penn Athletics), Claire Orr (TTCF), Roger Frontin (TTCF), Edward Marchan (Paralympics), Josiah Morales (Eagles Aquatics), Curtis George (West Penn), Jenelle Nedd (MOS/NAAA), Ronald Rogers (UTT/TTCB), Kiron Simmons (UTT), Angel Ottley (UTT), Reynold Lovell (UTT), Shayne Cooper (NAAA), Rodney Liverpool (TTDF), Terron Abner (Marabella Family Crisis Centre), Jo-Ellen Redhead (MOS), Antonia Burton (NAAA), Gregory Seale (Movement Mechanics), Ashlee Alonso (Movement Mechanics), Courtnee-Mae Clifford (TTVF), Nataki Akii-Bua (Ventures Hockey Club), Pau Voisin (NAAA), Colin Syriac ( Bike Smith Cycling Club) and Kelton Thomas (TTBBFF).


The group present for the workshop consists of various professionals in the field of strength and conditioning, sport medicine, fitness trainers, coaches and athletes.


The high performance workshop will conclude today (12th May 2015).