Olympic 400 metres bronze medallist Lalonde Gordon, Pan American Games 110m hurdles silver medallist Mikel Thomas and sprint star Michelle-Lee Ahye are among the 34 athletes who will be on show for Trinidad and Tobago at the North American, Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Senior Track and Field Championships, in San Jose, Costa Rica, this weekend.

The T&T athletes head to Costa Rica today (Wednesday), and will be in action on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Gordon and Tacuma Sterling are expected to fly the T&T flag in the men’s 400m. Thomas and Ruebin Walters are the country’s representatives in the men’s sprint hurdles. And Ahye, as well as Reyare Thomas, will run in the women’s 100m dash.

Emmanuel Callender faces the starter in the men’s 100m. In the 200m for men, Dan-Neil Telesford and Kyle Greaux will hunt precious metal. The women’s 200m will feature Semoy Hackett and Kamaria Durant.

Jamaal James and Nicholas Landeau have been selected to represent the Red, White and Black in the men’s 800m. Alena Brooks is the lone T&T athlete in the women’s 800m. Three one-lap hurdlers will compete in Costa Rica—Sparkle McKnight and Josanne Lucas in the women’s event, and Emanuel Mayers among the men.

Romona Modeste and Jessica James do battle for T&T in the women’s 400m flat event. And in the women’s 100m hurdles, Deborah John will fly the flag. Ayanna Alexander and Elton Walcott are among the jumpers on the T&T team. Quincy Wilson, Hezekiel Romeo and Shakiel Waithe lead the charge among the throwers.


Men—Emmanuel Callender, Mikel Thomas, Dan-Neil Telesford, Kyle Greaux, Lalonde Gordon, Tacuma Sterling, Deverne Charles, Jamaal James, Nicholas Landeau, Ruebin Walters, Emanuel Mayers, Dwaine Herbert, Kyron Blaise, Elton Walcott, Quincy Wilson, Emmanuel Stewart, Hezekiel Romeo, Shakiel Waithe, Steve Waithe

Women—Semoy Hackett, Michelle-Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas, Kamaria Durant, Romona Modeste, Jessica James, Alena Brooks, Sparkle McKnight, Josanne Lucas, Deborah John, Ayanna Alexander, Deandra Daniel, Jaleesa Williams, Lisa Wickham, Peli Alzola

Officials—Durly Lucas (manager), Lester Osouna (head coach), Arlon Morrison (coach), Ken Barton (coach), Dave Sandy (coach), Paul Voisin (coach), Michelle Alleyne-Pennie (coach), Robin Brereton (coach), Joyce Thomas (coach)

Medical Staff—Anthony Walcott, Jason Pilgrim, Kurlyn Smith-Nicholas