TRIPLE OLYMPIC medallist Richard Thompson and Semoy Hackett topped the respective men’s and women’s 100 metres preliminary round fields yesterday, as the 2016 NGC/Sagicor-sponsored NAAA National Open Track and Field Championships began at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

Thompson won heat 10 and clocked the fastest time among the men - 10.25 seconds, while Emmanuel Callender, who won heat one, was the second fastest with 10.31. Other runners advancing to the men’s semifinals include Kyle Greaux (10.39), Rondell Sorrillo (10.41), Marcus Duncan (10.42) and veteran Darrel Brown (10.49).

Reigning national champ Keston Bledman was the 10th fastest overall with 10.73 while the evergreen Marc Burns squeezed into the semi-final line-up as the 24th fastest (there will be 24 entrants in the semis) with 10.69.

In the women’s 100m, Hackett breezed to victory in heat five with a 11.25 clocking while Michelle- Lee Ahye claimed heat one in 11.26 - both times below the 11.32 Olympic standard.

Other notable names who progressed to the semis were Reyare Thomas (11.37), Kamaria Durant (11.52), 2015 winner Kelly-Ann Baptiste (11.58), Pan Am Junior title-holder Khalifa St Fort (11.38) and her training partner, national junior champ Sarah Wollaston (12.16).

In the 400m first round, Deon Lendore was the fastest among men in 45.74, with Jarrin Solomon (45.91), 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Lalonde Gordon (45.96), Renny Quow (46.23) and the inform Machel Cedenio (46.39) trailing while, among the women, Domonique Williams (52.65), St Vincent’s Kineke Alexander (52.90) and Kennika Beckles of Grenada (53.35) were the top three.

Action will continue today from 3.30 pm with the spotlight being on the respective men’s and women’s 100m semifinals and finals, as well as the men’s and women’s 800m and 1500m, men’s 110m hurdles, women’s 100m hurdles, men’s shot put, men’s long jump, women’s high jump, women’s triple jump, women’s javelin, women’s discus, men’s decathlon and women’s heptathlon.

Results (club in brackets) - Men’s Hammer Throw: 1. Emmanuel Stewart (Zenith) 53.05m.

Women’s Hammer Throw: 1.LaToya Gilding (Striders) 27.47m; 2.Angel Coombs (Striders) 26.60m; 3.Gwendolyn Smith (Palo Seco) 25.83m.